Welcome Oliver!

I know it has been a while since I have posted, but things have been very busy in our house. I made it through college (yay!) and a day later flew back home and picked up Oliver! The man of the hour has finally arrived. Let me tell you, he is quite a character.

Image 1

“I don’t know how I ended up in this position, but it’s pretty impressive”

When I first went to visit Oliver he was very shy, he was in the stranger-danger stage of his kitten-hood, and wow is he so different now. He always has to be the center of attention and loves to hear himself talk. And his breeder was so right: he is such a cuddle bug and is a big time mama’s boy. He sleeps with me under my covers every night. It has been three weeks since we have gotten home and Oliver is totally settled in. He has even decided that he is willing to share his space with Sam, much to Sam’s excitement (he was thrilled to have a new brother, and was a bit upset when Oliver didn’t take to him right away.)

Image 3

“So sleepy”

He also has a thing about electronics. He loves to sit on my computer, whether it is on or off, and it is an ongoing battle to keep him off the keyboard when I am trying to do something. The same goes for my phone. He considers it his possession and is always knocking it out of my hands so that he can rub all over it. Actually he considers everything his, even Sam’s toys. He just goes into a room and takes over everything.

Image

“What do you mean you want me to get off the computer?”

His favorite toy is his feather mouse, and he will actually even play fetch with it. I was totally surprised when he started bringing me the mouse to throw for him, and just floored when he actually brought it back. I didn’t have to train him to do it or anything. The thing about him being a kitten though is that he wants to play all the time, and I am totally down for playtime, until I got to bed. Oliver doesn’t understand that he will wake me up at three AM by sitting on my head and dropping a toy on my face. He doesn’t scratch the furniture, or the scratching post… he does scratch me. We are working on that, as well as the teething on everything. One of the funniest things though is that he things going to the bathroom is a group activity. He will watch me as he uses his litter box, or try to sit on the toilet with me while I go to the bathroom.

Image 2

“I’m just going to hang out here while you finish your business.”

Overall though, he is a great cat, and will fit in with our household. I have already talked with the person who helped us train Sam, and she has given me some pointers to help Oliver get a couple steps closer to being therapy ready. I will also post some videos soon, we are trying to figure out a good camera to use to get some HD shots. So lots of videos coming up: Bathtime, playtime, outside time… or anything else good that we manage to catch on camera.

To stay up to date with Oliver in Training subscribe HERE

Leave a Reply

